LOS ANGELES (CBSLA) – As the Film Academy continues to diversify its ranks, new eligibility requirements and inclusion standards for future nominations for best picture were announced on Tuesday.

“The opening needs to be expanded to reflect our diverse world populations both in the making of films and the audiences who connect with them. The Academy is committed to playing an important role in achieving this goal, ”Academy President David Rubin and Academy Executive Director Dawn Hudson said in a statement. "We believe these inclusion standards will be a catalyst for lasting, significant change in our industry."

Change starts now. We announced new display and inclusion standards for eligibility for the best picture, starting with the # 96 Oscars. Read more here: https://t.co/qdxtlZIVKb pic.twitter.com/hR6c2jb5LM

– The Academy (@TheAcademy) September 9, 2020

To qualify for best picture in 2024, a film must meet diversity requirements in two of the four following categories:

– Screen presentation, themes and narratives

– creative leadership and project team

– Access to industry and opportunities

– audience development

All other categories except "Best Film" are subject to the current conditions of participation.

The requirements will go into effect for the 96th Oscars in 2024.

An Academy Inclusion Standards form must be submitted to the Academy in order for a film to qualify for the 94th Oscars (2021) and 95th Oscars (2022), although inclusion thresholds are not yet required.

The new inclusion requirements are part of the Academy Aperture 2025 initiative, which is the next phase in the Academy's efforts to strengthen equity and representation in the entertainment industry.

In the first phase, the diversity among the members of the Academy was increased and the number of women and people of color doubled. That goal was achieved in June when the newest class was welcomed.

That effort follows the #OscarsSoWhite controversy in 2015 and 2016, in which all 20 of the top actor nominations went to white actors for two consecutive years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here